krotatlantic.blogg.se

Cost of synology surveillance station license
Cost of synology surveillance station license




cost of synology surveillance station license

Which also lets you host your own data, and provides cloud and mobile app support with little or no setup. It lets you run a large variate of cheap or expensive cameras and has a reasonably complete feature set.Ĭlosest thing I would compare it to is Ubiquiti's Unifi Video or now Protect. I settled on the Hikvision for reliability and support and it uses about 4% CPU for 16 cameras viewing or recording. Other options use from 1% to 10% for 16 cameras. Even on my current dual 8-core xeons, Blue Iris uses 30% CPU with just two cameras. I have benchmarked many surveillance apps across many different PC configurations and Blue Iris is the worst performing by far in every single benchmark I performed. So, my suggestion is one of these two scenarios - Synology as storage space only or cheap Synology, 2 cameras per device - and never pay for their licensing. Trying to get one camera per drive in any other Synology scenario is far more expensive and you also have to buy licenses. That gives me a far cheaper solution for one-camera-per-drive than any other solution and using cheap drives as 2TB stores a month's worth of video.

#COST OF SYNOLOGY SURVEILLANCE STATION LICENSE INSTALL#

I install two 2TB drives and configure two cameras, each saving to one drive. In other cases, I use the cheapest two-disk - currently DS218j - which takes two drives and comes with two Surveillance Station licenses. In some cases I use my Synology DS to set up a iSCSI NAS and use my Hikvision ivms-4200 running on my monitoring PC and saving to a high-end Synology. I really don't like their licensing model - what business is it of theirs how many cameras I use? So I have two different approaches across my multiple sites using Synology. After buying many licenses I found a better solution for me. I use Synology Surveillance Station very reluctantly.






Cost of synology surveillance station license